Home Bounties Forums Library Downloads Links
 
 
 
MOSNet
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Posts: 408 from 2004/7/15
    From: Russia, Moscow
    Hello all!
    At last i'm back from my XMas holidays to work. I'm glad to tell you that this week i expect to finish MOSNet v0.18 with MiamiPanels support. GelbesPanel already starts up and shows interfaces list. Close gadget also works.
    Unfortunately i have a temporary problems with Internet connection at my new place, e-mail doesn't work, even not talking about CVS. :-x In addition, i've got a stable salary, Windows MFC coding experience (wow, i even don't want to sleep at work, my brain actually works at last), and 50 mb/month Internet traffic limit :-P which gets worked out at a frightening speed.
    Soon i'll resolve problems with my e-mail and move to mailing list. Also we'll continue to look at the performance. Hold on!
    iPod, iBook, iMac,... iRobot?
  • »11.01.06 - 13:27
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    katos1
    Posts: 402 from 2003/8/13
    From: Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Good to Hear... Stability is always important, Whatever the project....Plus Vacations are essential... Keep up the good work
  • »11.01.06 - 15:34
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    takemehomegrandma
    Posts: 1961 from 2003/2/24
    From: Sweden
    Quote:

    and 50 mb/month Internet traffic limit :-P


    You have a *limit*?!? :-P ;-)
    MorphOS is Amiga done right! :-)
  • »11.01.06 - 15:48
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    VooDoo
    Posts: 181 from 2005/8/24
    Great news Sonic..Today I will test MoS Net on MOS 1.4.5 PowerUp..now I have ADSL and whit this soft transfer betwen my Amiga and Xbox will be faster!!I will post results!
    MAC mini 1.5 ghz 1GB ram + MorphOS 3.2

    A1200 sandwich

    uA1c/g3 800 mHz/256mb/160gb hdd/OS4.1 :-D
  • »11.01.06 - 19:19
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    magnetic
    Posts: 2122 from 2003/3/1
    From: Los Angeles
    Sonic

    Great to have you back. Hope you enjoyed your holiday. I'm sure everyone is eager for the next update.

    @ Voodoo

    Nice Amiga setup :-o

    How is the speed of MOS 1.4.5 on your machine?

    magnetic
    Pegasos 2 Rev 2B3 w/ Freescale 7447 "G4" @ 1ghz / 1gb Nanya Ram
    Quad Boot: MorphOS 2.7 | Amiga OS4.1 U4 | Ubuntu PPC GNU/Linux | OS X 10.4
  • »12.01.06 - 05:08
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    VooDoo
    Posts: 181 from 2005/8/24
    @magnetic

    Speed is great!! MOS 1.4.5 works 5x faster than os3.9 on 040/33..and look very good..only what I need at the moment is MOS nativ driver for FastATA controler..Any info about this driver? I contact Elbox about this..and Elbox send documentation to MOS devloper..but stillnothing.. :(
    MAC mini 1.5 ghz 1GB ram + MorphOS 3.2

    A1200 sandwich

    uA1c/g3 800 mHz/256mb/160gb hdd/OS4.1 :-D
  • »12.01.06 - 15:39
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    CISC
    Posts: 564 from 2005/8/27
    From: the land with the great coastline...
    Quote:

    I contact Elbox about this..and Elbox send documentation to MOS devloper..but stillnothing.. :(


    I guess that's a truth with certain modifications...


    - CISC
  • »12.01.06 - 16:03
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    VooDoo
    Posts: 181 from 2005/8/24
    @CISC

    ahhh no :( without this driver I need go to OS3.9 for burning CD..and hdd transfer is slow..
    MAC mini 1.5 ghz 1GB ram + MorphOS 3.2

    A1200 sandwich

    uA1c/g3 800 mHz/256mb/160gb hdd/OS4.1 :-D
  • »12.01.06 - 16:12
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    fryguy
    Posts: 16 from 2005/8/19
    Ouch! 50mb/month not 50gb/month?
  • »12.01.06 - 16:40
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    serge
    Posts: 718 from 2003/2/20
    Hi,

    I would like to use MOSNet, but my Home network is in DHCP mode.
    I dont found informations about DHCP on MOSNet docs.
    What I have to do please?

    Thank you.
  • »19.02.06 - 18:55
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Toto
    Posts: 258 from 2003/4/20
    Change the eth0 line in Mosnet:db/interfaces to:

    eth0 DEV=DEVS:networks/via_rhinepci.device UNIT=0 IP=DHCP UP

    ~toto
  • »19.02.06 - 19:00
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    merko
    Posts: 328 from 2003/5/19
    I don't get DHCP working here. It makes DHCP requests, but does not
    get any offers (or does not recognise the offers for some reason).
    It's weird because DCHP works fine in Miami and in Linux. I haven't
    been able to figure out any relevant options for DCHP to play with,
    either.
  • »20.02.06 - 01:44
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    merko
    Posts: 328 from 2003/5/19
    Hmm, now I got one idea tho..

    ..and yes, now it seems to work. It's slow compared to Miami, but
    Miami gives me all sorts of other problem so I'll give it a chance.
    :-)


    [ Edited by merko on 2006/2/20 2:57 ]
  • »20.02.06 - 01:46
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Acill
    Posts: 1727 from 2003/10/19
    From: Gilbert, Az.
    Yes sadly it is quite slow. I have gone back to Miami DX myself.
    http://www.acill.com

    2010 2.8 Ghz Mac Pro Quad
    iMac 2.8 Ghz Core2 Duo
    MacBook Pro 2.16 Ghz Core2 Duo
    Powermac Mirror Drive Doors Dual 1.0 GHZ G4 (Registration #1894)
  • »20.02.06 - 04:09
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    serge
    Posts: 718 from 2003/2/20
    Ok,

    Thank you Toto. It works fine now on DHCP mode.:-)
    Unfortunatly, it's slower than MiamiDX :-(

    It needs some more optimisation.

    [ Edited by serge on 2006/2/20 6:51 ]
  • »20.02.06 - 05:51
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    catohagen
    Posts: 285 from 2003/5/20
    with mosnet 0.18 i get average 7mb/s between samba<>winxp, so speed seems to be ok after you tweak
    the settings abit.
  • »20.02.06 - 15:59
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Stevo
    Posts: 746 from 2004/1/24
    From: #AmigaZeux
    Corpsicle brings us the news of yet another MOSNet update:

    v0.19 changes:

    kernel:
    - Changed default TCP buffer size to 2048.
    - Added support for RC scripts.
    - Fixed bug: netmask specified in Interfaces file was actually ignored, wrong mask was used for the route to the interface.
    - Fixed bug: syslog messages with any facility code set were ignored.
    - Fixed bug: random value was passed to dhclient as an stdout handler.

    CLI environment:
    - Added "logger" tool

    http://www.morphzone.org/modules/mydownloads/singlefile.php?lid=334
  • »21.02.06 - 09:24
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    ThePlayer
    Posts: 1000 from 2003/3/24
    From: Hamburg/Germany
    hi catohagen, can you tell us wich settings to tweak?
    I have tried MOSNet 0.19 and i got downspeed with ATC 1,5 MB and upload 3kb, that is damn slow. With Genesis i got up&down 5-6mb.
    PowerBook 17" SuperHD-Display waiting for MorphOS with or without WiFi support.
  • »22.02.06 - 00:43
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    catohagen
    Posts: 285 from 2003/5/20
    >hi catohagen, can you tell us wich settings to tweak?
    >I have tried MOSNet 0.19 and i got downspeed with ATC 1,5 MB and upload 3kb, that is bless slow. With Genesis i got up&down 5-6mb.

    i dont use atc but mainly samba to transfer files and stream movies over network
    to my xbox, and with samba i added

    socket options = so_rcvbuf=2048 so_sndbuf=2048

    to lib/smb.conf and transfer rate went up, this have something to do with
    mosnet and tcp stacks that dont have automatic tcp window resizing.
    I guess then the client software have to be adjusted to fit the stack or something
    like that.

    My mosnet 'tweak' settings is :

    TCP_SendSpace=8192
    TCP_RecvSpace=8192

    in db/general.config

    in samba, transfers really fly at the moment, i notice even a difference
    when copy from ambient windows, and from shell, with shell i can adjust copy
    buffer and with a buffer of 100000 i see the mb/s peaks at 7.5 - 8mb/s and
    with ambient copy its around 5- 5.5mb/s.

    Not sure, but i think 1 buffer equals 512byte so thats 5.1mb buffer so less
    hd access and more cpu to push network traffic.

    shell copy without buffer argument is about the same as ambient copy.
    So Mosnet can do well, but everything around it needs to be tweaked to get the
    max output. I think Sonic will adapt Mosnet and update source with automatic
    tcp window resizing later.

    So if you can, use samba instead of ftp :)
  • »22.02.06 - 17:43
    Profile